A letter inspired by a painting

The school year has started. We have had various assignments about different artworks. This one is a letter "written by" the lady in József Rippl-Rónai's painting, Woman With a Cage

By L. S. 8/a

 

(Source: https://mek.oszk.hu/02500/02534/html/nagykep.jpg)

 

Dear Josh,

We met two months ago. It’s a really long time. I’m okay. My life is not very interesting except one thing. I have a nightingale. Let me tell you the whole story.

One day I was in the park, sitting on a bench when an old man came with this beautiful bird. He wanted to kill him. I started to shout at him until I rescued the bird. The man gave me the nightingale. I was very surprised.
I went to a pet store where I bought a cage and food for him. While I was walking home I was thinking about his name. Finally I named him Cézanne, after Paul Cézanne, my favourite painter.
Every day I speak a lot to him. He already knows three words: Cézanne, hello, and my name, Susan. I’m very proud.

How are you? How are your daughters? Is everything going well?
I hope you will be able to visit us in the near future!

Love

Susan   

 

 

 

 

Tags